Welcoming 2012

Standard

A new year tends to remind me of Resolutions with a capital ‘R’. Many people tend to set some sort of goals for themselves. Sometimes, we lose sight of what they are as the year rolls on. Nonetheless, setting goals guide us to working towards something that is important or meaningful to us. My resolution? It is to learn Korean. I’m trying very hard to find a Korean language teacher…

Here’s something from The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole 13 3/4:

Chapter One
Thursday January 1st
Bank Holiday in England
Ireland, Scotland and Wales
 
These are my New Year’s resolutions:
I will help the blind across the land.
I will hang my trousers up.
I will put the sleeves back on my records.
I will stop squeezing my spots.
I will be kind to the dog.
I will help the poor and ignorant.
 
Just my luck, I’ve got a spot on my chin for the first day of the New Year!
 

Have you had a chance to read Adrian Mole? The author, Sue Townsend, has created a lovable boy who is just quite unfortunate in so many ways. If you do get a chance, the school library has a copy, if I’m not mistaken. Enjoy reading. It works wonders for your language, idea generation and sentence formation.

ACTIVITY QUESTIONS: How do you celebrate New Year in Korea? What are some of your resolutions?

Click ‘Leave a comment’ and post your thoughts, opinions, suggestions and ideas. Remember to leave your name and class. Remember all posts are public.

About mrsmissoveness

I'm Heading the EAL dept and Teaching ESL Students in the Mainstream Classroom (TESMC) trainer on Jeju island, South Korea. I'm enjoying the IT revolution in the classroom and discovering new IT tools to support my lessons. Reading is at the top of my list: “The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you'll go" Dr Seuss, I can read with my eyes shut. Learning Korean is my biggest challenge at this point in time. However, a word a day is my target.

8 responses »

  1. Surnal is one of biggest Korean traditional day which is same as lunar date. In lunar date we get up early and dress formal looking cloth. We go to the family’s eldest person’s house. When all family meet together we start to eat traditional food which Is rice cake soup. We are saying if you eat that soup you get one year old more. When everything’s are settle down it’s time to main part of surname. We bow to adult and they give us some money, it’s just traditional thing and I really like it. I am so exciting, I can’t wait to go back to home and get some money.

    • In all cultural festival, looking smart in new clothes and collecting presents are the fun parts. I’m happy to be on Jeju during the lunar festival. In Singapore, the Chinese celebrate this festival, too. To the Chinese, red symbolises good luck so many would dress in something red and money is given out in ‘red packets’ called Hong Baos. Happy new year and may luck be with you all year.

  2. When the night just before new year, many people come to Seoul and see Watch-Night bell rings 108 times. People pray their resolution and hope things will be great in this year. I also have been there and saw the bell ringing. I want to be great whatever I do.

    • Hello Brian. 108 times? WOW! That must be majestic and loud. Perhaps you could explain to me what ‘Watch-night’ is when we next meet. If you are fully dedicated to your goals, put in the effort and seek help when needed, you’ll succeed. You can be almost anything you want with a little sweat and lots of inspiration.

  3. Mostly, families and cousins all gather up to celebrate New Year. One of the traditional mores in Korea is to to bow to elder persons. We can get some money from them after we do this. Granpa usually give words of blessing to the children and we eat rice-cake soup as well.
    The most important resolution is to develop my writing skills. I’m planning todo a lot of things to put more effort on writing such as no absent in wrting ESL, read more books, try to write essay in spare time in various subjects.. etc. I enjoy this ESL so much but hope that I’m not in ESL any more after this term 🙂

    • Hey Solji, it’s good to know that you will put in more effort in reading and writing. Should you like help, you need only ask and I’ll be happy to look over your work, help with vocabulary or assignments. The ESL Dept is here to support our students and not punish them nor drag them to classes.
      As for the lunar new year. I wish you lots of happiness and financial success 🙂

  4. Generally, Korean celebrate New Year as lunar date. Also we celebrate in January 1st, but we celebrate it in lunar date traditionally. I have celebrated Lunar New Year. I visit grandmother’s house and have an ancestor rites. Then I, siblings and cousins have a bowing time for grandparents and say “새해 복 많이 받으세요” which means “Happy new year ! ” in Korean. We bowed to not only grandparents but also our parents. Then we get some pocket money. It is really happy time because we get some money ! 🙂 Of course, I will go to grandparents’ house in Lunar New Year. I’m really expecting !!

    Also I have resolutions to be a planned person. Firstly, I will success my diet. I will lose weight as much as I can. I would like to go to the fitness club to be skinny. The other reason for diet is to be fast in swimming. If I am more light I can swim more quickly. I really like swimming, thus I have to lose weight. Secondly, I will get 6 or 7 marks in every subjects. I fell I should study hard, because I am here to learn English and the other knowledge. I will do my homework in right time and prepare the exam before the exam day. Additionally, I’m going to use English every time to develop my ability.

  5. In Korea we are celebrate luna new year by gathering families all together and celebrate together. Also, we’ve got money when we bow to parents and grandparents. That’s the advantage of new year, also gathering all together. Also you can have Korean lessons in the main land

Leave a Comment to the Activity

