What does Christmas mean to me?

Standard

Christmas has always been one of my favourite holidays. In addition to it’s religious significance, it reminds me of family and the raucous family gatherings we had whilst I was growing up. It isn’t so much the gift-giving as the communal eating, laughing, sharing of that day when time seems to stand still and only happiness prevailed. Today, Christmas is a festival I would like to celebrate with my daughter, bringing new traditions as well as the old, into her life.

Whatever Christmas might mean to you, I hope you enjoy it and have many happy memories of the day or twelve, at that!

MERRY CHRISTMAS to all NLCS Jeju students and staff, friends near and far and those who follow this blog.

And for those interested in a little history of the colours of Christmas, here’s a short video clip from the BBC (click the link and be dazzled).

Who colour-coded Christmas?

It would be a Christmas bonus if you clicked, ‘Leave a comment’ and posted your thoughts, feelings, opinions or suggestions. Remember to leave your name and class. Remember that all posts are public.

About mrsmissoveness

I'm Heading the EAL dept and Teaching ESL Students in the Mainstream Classroom (TESMC) trainer on Jeju island, South Korea. I'm enjoying the IT revolution in the classroom and discovering new IT tools to support my lessons. Reading is at the top of my list: “The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you'll go" Dr Seuss, I can read with my eyes shut. Learning Korean is my biggest challenge at this point in time. However, a word a day is my target.

2 responses »

  1. Christmas is quite special to my family rather than luna new year, because we have made new resolution for coming up new year. Also, I’ve made several plans in ESL class. I make a plan that I can achieve, so I made ‘ Graduate ESL class in next term ‘. Originally, Christmas is a religious day, also enjoy and thanks each other. I would like to keep enjoy the Christmas in the future.

    • Hi Min Suk, I hope you had a good Christmas. It’s good to have resolutions and most importantly, to set goals that are achievable. With your commitment to ESL classes, completion of all your assignments and using what you have learnt, you should be able to ace the test at the end of the term. Keep practicing your writing. Good luck. Thanks for your post. There will be another to comment on soon.

Leave a Comment to the Activity

