Global Language

Standard

I have had the wonderful opportunity of living in Singapore, Thailand, the UK and now, Jeju Island. In my time away from home, I have relied on my English language to get through day to day. I did try learning certain Thai phrases for my daily encounters in the shops and restaurants. My husband was very much better at this though. And now, I’m trying rather hard to learn some Korean.

However, it seems that no matter which part of the world you are in, there is someone who can speak some English or lots of it. We have come to depend heavily on English as a means of global communication for business, the Internet and cross-cultural events.

Here are some quotations from lecturers, linguists and educators about English being a global language.

“This is the first time we actually have a language spoken genuinely globally by every country in the world.” (David Crystal author of “English as a Global Language).

“English is dominant in a way that no language has ever been before.” (John McWhorter, linguist, Manhattan Institute)

“English as become the second language of everybody.” ( Mark Warschauer, Professor of Education, University of California)

From The New York Times http://www.nytimes.com/2007/04/09/world/asia/09iht-englede.1.5198685.html?pagewanted=all

ACTIVITY QUESTIONS: What do you think of English being a global language? Do you think the influence of English in business, the media, the Internet and a means of cross-cultural communication, is a positive one? Or do you think it’s negative?

Click on “Leave a comment” to post your answers, thoughts, ideas and opinions. Remember to leave your name and class. Remember, all posts are public.

About mrsmissoveness

I'm Heading the EAL dept and Teaching ESL Students in the Mainstream Classroom (TESMC) trainer on Jeju island, South Korea. I'm enjoying the IT revolution in the classroom and discovering new IT tools to support my lessons. Reading is at the top of my list: “The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you'll go" Dr Seuss, I can read with my eyes shut. Learning Korean is my biggest challenge at this point in time. However, a word a day is my target.

2 responses »

  1. Thank you. We are happy to receive learners of the language as well as experts. My interest is to expose my students to a variety of writing styles and form. Cheers.

Leave a Comment to the Activity

