Journalling

Standard

Journals are a wonderful way of recording your thoughts, ideas and inspiration through words, pictures and drawings. As a powerful tool, with numerous benefits from creative to personal to mental development, my wish is that you reap the most from this activity now and in the years to come.My main aim is to encourage everyone to write down their responses, building on the skills of critical thinking, evaluating and giving opinions as well as learning to put your thoughts down in English.

Below is a sample journal we worked on in class.

The half term break

I was really looking forward to the break after 5 weeks in the new school and new faces. It was especially challenging to be learning and speaking in English all the time! My brain felt like it was going to explode so the break came just in time. Throughout the week, I enjoyed being with my family and catching up with old friends. The simple routine of waking up late, having a leisurely breakfast, chatting to my mother and grandparents, made me realise how much I took things for granted in the past.

Today, we are back in school and it feels surreal to be back at boarding and away from the family. Being on my own has made me realise how important family are and how I need to work hard to make them proud of me. I’m excited about going back to the games and societies that I was part of and to meet with my new friends again. I’m sure I’ll be more diligent and positive this term. My challenge is to get better term grades and feedback from all my teachers

ACTIVITY: Read the questions below. Then click on  ‘LEAVE A COMMENT’ to leave your answers, ideas thoughts and opinions. Please include your NAME and YEAR GROUP. Remember, all posts are public.

QUESTIONS: Have you done any journalling? How did you keep this journal and did you enjoy doing this?

About mrsmissoveness

I'm Heading the EAL dept and Teaching ESL Students in the Mainstream Classroom (TESMC) trainer on Jeju island, South Korea. I'm enjoying the IT revolution in the classroom and discovering new IT tools to support my lessons. Reading is at the top of my list: “The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you'll go" Dr Seuss, I can read with my eyes shut. Learning Korean is my biggest challenge at this point in time. However, a word a day is my target.

18 responses »

    • Hi Andrew, I’m pleased to know that you want to improve in your writing. I’ve a few suggestions – read in English, magazines, newspapers, books; speak in English in school and in all the chances you get; keep visiting my blog to add comments and read the comments of others to learn how they write and finally, come to ESLunch classes regularly. Have a good day, Kevin

  1. I didnt like to write journal. However, when
    I was on europe tour, i was forced to write journal. I didnt like it but i hink it has improved my writing skill

    • Kevin, there’s only one way to go and that’s up. So keep writing for the more you write, the more practice you get, you give yourself a chance to improve. See you soon.

  2. I didn’t like writing journal and i still don’t like it. Because i’m bad at writing, i have to think hard in one topic. Then the time pass and i have nothing written on my paper. I started writting it since i went into school and until now, but reall, i don’t really enjoy writting journal.

    • Lizzy, you have written here and made a good effort. That’s why I’m giving topics so that it’s something for you to focus on and think about when you write. Please look at the other topics on this blog and contribute more. Ask your other friends to comment too. The more writing practice you have, the quicker your progress in English will be. Good luck!

  3. I don’t like writting journal because, I don’t have something to write so when I write journal I have to think a lot.
    I wrote journal until 6th grand in elementary school.

    • Sarah, I know it can be difficult at times. When I was in primary school, I didn’t enjoy it,too. Now, I love writing down my thoughts, places I’ve visited, things my daughter has learnt and I paste in airplane tickets, stickers, I draw and write poems in my journal. I hope to give more topics for journals so that you have a focus for your writing. See you soon.

  4. I’m keep the journals for the little diary. It’s not real diary. I did only summary for one day. My feel is good or bad, like that! I think write a diary is having a fun. Because in the past I did the newspaper fashion show, and at that time I know I was feeling good or bad. And at the first of the school, it was very excited! So we know the handwriting. If I am not good my handwriting are very bad. If I am very leisurely, my handwriting is very great. So that’s it.

    • Journals are indeed a good form of record – when you do look back, you can see how you’ve grown (emotionally) and perhaps in terms of your handwriting too. Leah, do keep coming back to the blog and contributing your thoughts. It’s another good way of putting your English into practice. Have a good weekend and happy journalling.

  5. When i write a journal, i try not to make a pattern such as words, and i don’t like it to be typicaly. Whe i was europe, i wrote journal everyday, and it get beeter and better. I think it helped my writing skill

    • Hurray, Kevin. I’m so glad you see and have seen the value of the journal. Do keep writing in your journal, in this blog and you’ll grow in terms of your English, have more ideas and formulate opinions. Thanks, Kevin.

  6. I dont like journaling that much, because I do not have specific situations to write. So, I wrote it until when I go to middle school, because it was homework. However, I think journaling is good idea because people can remember what they did before.

  7. I don’t like journaling that much. I wrote it until elementary school, and I stopped doing it. Writing journal was too hard for me, because I didn’t have enough sources to write. However, I think it might be useful when we write journal, because we can remember what we did before

    • Hi Kevin, journals don’t always have to be a diary of your day to day activities. It could be about your thoughts on a subject/topic/theme and a good way to collect ideas for future essays. You can also doodle, draw, illustrate, stick in momentoes, anything really. Enjoy the experience.

  8. If a journal is a writing that one who wants to write not a writing that forced to write, then I never wrote journal. Actually journaling especially diary wasn’t a enjoyable activity. However in elementary school unfortunate I was forced to wrote a diary every single day which I think it was waste of my time. At that time I surely thought writing a diary is a some kind of torture. But now I surely believe that journaling can be a enjoyable activity. When I read my past diaries, I can sometimes laugh or even introspection. And now, I believe I should start to write journals.

    • Thank you, June for your thoughts. I do hope you don’t see this activity as something being ‘forced’ on you. The intention is to give students a variety of ways to express themselves in English. Journals have proven effective in many English language classrooms and over time, students appreciate that they can go back and read their thoughts and ideas, and see how they have progressed in written English. Do keep coming back to this blog to comment on the topics and build up your language skills. Happy Sunday.

  9. I enjoy journalling as it allows me to be creative in my diary. Not only to I write my thoughts, I draw pictures, put in ticket stubs, photographs, song lyrics and little stickers. I find that it helps me think better and when I look back at some journal entries, I am surprised at some of the ideas I’ve had. Journalling is an excellent tool for students as well. All NLCS Jeju students should endeavour to keep journals.

Leave a Comment to the Activity

